Sam (aged 8), Cheadle Heath

Sam (aged 8), Cheadle Heath

I’m Sam and I’m 8 years old. My mummy has Multiple Sclerosis and is in a wheelchair. It’s only us that live in our house so I help out with all the things that need doing in the house like fetching and carrying things for mum, putting the washing in, helping mum in and out of her wheelchair and helping to prepare food. Sometimes I feel really sad that we can’t do things that other families do and I worry about mummy while I’m at school.

It has been better since the people that help with families at Signpost Young Carers have started to see us. They have worked with my mum to get us some help at home so I don’t have to do as much in the house, and I’m not so worried at school. I’ve also joined one of the Young Carers group so I get some time on my own when I can do things like my other friends do.

More Carer Stories

Kai (aged 14), Reddish

My little sister Ellie has autism. I really worry about her when we’re not together – she might hurt herself and other people just don’t understand that she can’t help

Read More »

Les

Watch Les’ video. Les has been a carer since his wife was diagnosed with dementia twelve years ago. Here, he talks about some of the ways that Signpost have helped him as well as connecting him to other valuable sources of support.

Read More »

Dear Friend and Supporter of Signpost

Like many organisations, we are experiencing increased demand for our services alongside reduced funding and donations. To enable our team to work as effectively and efficiently as possible, we have taken the difficult decision to close our phone lines from 1pm, Monday – Friday.

If you do call us in the afternoon, please do leave a message with your name, number and a summary of your enquiry. Our colleagues will be checking voicemails throughout the afternoon and will call you back as soon as possible. This will be within 2 working days. Alternatively, please email info@signpostforcarers.org.uk

We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause, and thank you in advance for your understanding.